Skip to main content

Riegel & Emory HR Center


The Riegel & Emory Human Resource (HR) Center is devoted to supporting research and education in the area of Human Resources. The Center was founded in 1982 with the support of an endowment provided by the Riegel & Emory Corporation. This endowment, combined with the support provided by members of the Riegel & Emory HR Advisory Board, has funded numerous research projects in the HR area. Research topics funded by the Center include work values, teams in the multinational corporation, HR outsourcing, workplace dispute resolution, HR and the M&A process, and organizational restructuring. Guided by the Advisory Board, the Center also works to promote education in the HR field. Funding from members of the Advisory Board has been used to fund student fellowships and a wide-array of instructional initiatives.

A critical element to success of the Riegel & Emory HR Center has been the active involvement of the Advisory Board. The Advisory Board works closely with members of the faculty to ensure that USC’s program and initiatives in the HR area are meeting the needs of students, organizations, and society.

Moore School faculty share their perspectives on the Riegel & Emory HR Board.

Lifetime Advisory Board Members

Russell Boekenheide
Cary W. Campbell
E. M. Halkyard
John H. Stern
Joseph C. Ullman

Current Advisory Board Members  

Scott Ballard Shell Oil Corporation
Jim Bethmann Caldwell Partners International
Stephen Bohannon  Lockton Companies 
Joseph Bouknight ScanSource, Inc. (retired)
Jeremy Braidish Avaya
Kenneth Carrig SunTrust Bank 
Marc A. Chini Synchrony Financial
Mauro A. Cieri Compass Group
Peter Cook  Quintiles Inc. 
Leslie Coyne  General Electric
Michael Dennis TIAA-CREF
Dan Ellzey Fisher and Phillips, LLP
Jason Farr Coca-Cola 
Darrell Ford Xerox 
Tore Haakonsson Solar A/S
Chris Hage Duke Energy Corporation
Elizabeth Haney General Information Services, Inc.
Ryland Harrelson  TSYS 
Greg Hays Ingersoll Rand
Annmarie Higgins SCANA Corporation
Carol R. Hutnek ExxonMobil
David Jarrett CFA Institute
Katie Jones  SunTrust Bank
Leslie Jones Benefitfocus
Jack Joseph  International Paper 
Janet Krupka  Michelin North America 
Ray Lewis  Allegion
David Loeser Unisys
Charles Martin Apex Tool Group, LLC
Allan McLeland  Sonoco
Janine McManus SonePar USA
John Murabito CIGNA Corporation
Ben Novy Vail Resorts 
Marty Phalen  SCANA Corporation 
John Pryor  Southeastern Freight Lines, Inc. 
Rob Rosenberg  DHL Supply Chain
Don Sain  Windstream Corp. 
Greg Smith  Frito-Lay North America
Suzette Snyder Textron Specialized Vehicle
Skip Spriggs  TIAA-CREF
Jan Steinmetz Bridgestone Americas, Inc.
James E. Stone SPI Capital, Inc.
David Teeter Eaton Corporation
Towanna Tindall The Boeing Company
Ann Weiser  Activision Blizzard (Retired)
Debra West  Keurig Green Mountain