Skip to main content

Faculty Awards

Sanjay Ahire Professor Sanjay Ahire‚Äôs 1996 article in Decision Sciences Journal (Ahire, S.L., Golhar, D.Y., and Waller, M.A., 1996.  Development and Validation of TQM Implementation Constructs, Decision Sciences Journal, Vol. 27 (1), 23-56.) has been cited more than 1,000 times ( as of July 2012.  It is one of the most cited research articles in Decision Sciences Journal over the last 41 years of its publication. 
Sanjay Ahire Sanjay Ahire, Professor of Management Science, has been awarded American Society of Quality's Six Sigma Master Black Belt Certificate. He is the "first and only university professor among 50 recipients" of this prestigious certification (all others are industry executives). Dr. Ahire has led more than 75 major operations and supply chain improvement projects in leading firms like GE, GM, Johnson & Johnson, Walmart and Westinghouse.
Orgul Ozturk Orgul Ozturk, Assistant Professor of Economics, will be a co-investigator on a $1,172,500, 3-year, CDC grant to gather and study data on rare conditions such as Spina Bifida and Fragile X. 
Scott Jackson Scott Jackson's, Associate Professor of Accounting, 2008 paper from The Accounting Review was named the 2012 Greatest Impact on Practice by the Management Accounting Section of the American Accounting Association. 
Manoj K. Malhotra
Manoj K. Malhotra, Chair of the Management Science Department, Khawaja Saeed, who earned his Ph. D. in Information Systems from the University of South Carolina,  and Varun Grover earned the 2011 Best Paper Award by Decision Sciences Journal for the article, "Inter-Organizational System Usage and Supply Chain Integration: An Empirical Assessment." 
Ashwani MongaThomas Kramer Thomas Kramer and Ashwani Monga, Associate Professors of Marketing, have been appointed to the Editorial Board of The Journal of Consumer Psychology. 
William O. Bearden  William O. Bearden, Bank of America Chaired Professor of Marketing, and Kelly Hewett coauthored an article which received the Global Marketing SIG's (Shared Interest Groups) 2009 Excellence in Global Marketing Research Award from the American Marketing Association (AMA). Hewett is a Ph. D. Alumna and former clinical assistant professor of marketing at the Darla Moore School of Business. The AMA noted that Hewett's and Bearden's work was important for its "ground-breaking role in developing research streams in managing global subsidiaries, a very importnat and popular topic." The article was based on Hewett's doctoral dissertation and was originally published in the Journal of Marketing. 
Satish JayachandranWilliam O. Bearden

William O. Bearden, Bank of America Chaired Professor of Marketing, Satish Jayachandran, Associate Professor of Marketing, and former doctoral student Ahmet Kirca coauthored an article, "Meta-Analysis on Market Orientation," which was one of the most cited articles in theJournal of Marketing during the period 2005-2007.

Allen N. Berger, H. Montague Osteen, Jr., Professor of Banking and Finance is one of the most prolific authors published in seven leading finance journals from 1959 to 2008. He placed 41st among nearly 9,000 authors contributing over the 50-year period. 
David Crockett  David Crockett, Associate Professor of Marketing, has been reappointed to the Journal of Consumer Research's editorial board and has been invited to join the editorial review board of the Journal of Public Policy and Marketing. 
Timothy Doupnik Timothy S. Doupnik, Professor of Accounting, has been elected to the board of the European Accounting Association (EAA), a network of accounting scholars and researchers from across Europe. Doupnik will serve as the representative for North America. 
William R. Folks  William R. "Randy" Folks, Jr., Distinguished Professor Emeritus of International Business, Associate Dean for International Activities and Executive Director of the Center for International Business Education & Research (CIBER), is the recipient of the NASBITE International John Otis Lifetime Achievement Award, the organization's highest honor. The award recognizes "those who have distinguished themselves through leadership or service nationally or internationally."  NASBITE is a professional organization of business educators, trade specialists, and global business practitioners. 
Michael Galbreth  Michael Galbreth, Assistant Professor of Managment Science, was awarded a Fulbright Scholarship from the U.S. State Department for his project titled "Reducing Waste Profitability:  Models to Improve the Collection, Remanufacturing, and Redistribution of Used Products."  He spent four months at McGill University in Montreal, known for its research in the area of sustainable operations. 
Caglar Irmak Caglar Irmak, Assistant Professor of Marketing, received the Best Student Paper Award in 2009 from the Society of Consumer Psychology.  Coauthored with doctoral student Promothesh Chatterjee, the paper is titled, "The Impact of Temporal Focus on the Endowment Effect." 
Jayanth Jayaram  Jayanth Jayaram, Associate Professor of Management Science, has been appointed an associate editor of Decision Sciences Journal.  He also serves as associate editor of the Journal of Operations Management, which has invited him to serve as coeditor of a special issue on "Entrepreneurship and Operations and Supply Chain Management." 
Timothy Koch  Timothy W. Koch, Professor of Finance, has been appointed to the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation's Advisory Committee on Community Banking for a two-year term.  He is the sole academic appointee to the committee, which will provide advice and recommendations on policy issues of interest to community banks and the markets they serve. 
 Yasemin Kor Yasemin Kor, Associate Professor of Management, was a panel speaker at the Entrepreneurship Research Exemplars Conference, a Best Practices Conference for Advancing Research Excellence in Entrepreneurship, held in May 2009 at the University of Connecticut and broadcast via the Web. She has also been named a strategy associate editor for the Journal of Management. 
Anthony Nyberg Anthony Nyberg, Assistant Professor of Management, is the 2009 recipient of the Ralph Alexander Dissertation Award from the Academy of Management's Human Resources Division.  Nyberg's dissertation, titled "Performance, Compensation and Turnover," concerns the motivations of employees who choose to voluntarily leave a firm. Nyberg also won the 2009 Scholarly Achievement Award from the HR Division for his paper, "Keeping your Headcount When All About You Are Losing Theirs:  Downsizing, Voluntary Turnover Rates, and the Moderating Role of HR Practices," written with Charlie Trevor of the University of Wisconsin-Madison. The article appeared in the April 2008 issue of the Academy of Management Journal. And, an excerpt of a Harvard Business Review article coauthored by Nyberg, ("After layoffs, help survivors be more effective," HBR, 87 (6):15), was printed in the June 2009 US Airways magazine.