Skip to main content

Outstanding Professors Retire

The end of the Spring 2015 semester brought with it mixed emotions as the School of Accounting lost three outstanding professors to retirement:  Tim Doupnik, Caroline Strobel, and Rich White.

Dr. Tim Doupnik joined the faculty in the Darla Moore School of Business at the University of South Carolina in 1982.  He chaired the task force that led to the creation of the International MBA (Europe) program and served as academic director of the program for six years.  He served as academic director of the Master of Accountancy program in the Moore School for four years and as Director of the School of Accounting for seven years.  From 2010-2013, Dr. Doupnik served as Vice Provost and Director of International Programs in USC's Office of the Provost.

Dr. Doupnik's research has focused primarily on international accounting issues.  In an article published in the International Journal of Accounting in 1999, he ranked first in authorship of international accounting research over the period of 1980-1996.  He is the lead author of International Accounting and the co-author of Advanced Accounting, both textbooks.

Dr. Doupnik taught international accounting courses in the University of South Carolina and as a guest professor at universities in several other countries.  He is a two-time recipient of the Alfred G. Smith Excellence in Teaching award in the Darla Moore School of Business.  He also served as faculty adviser for numerous study abroad trips.

Caroline D. Strobel joined the faculty of the University of South Carolina, Darla Moore School of Business in 1981.  She taught tax research and estate and gift taxation for the graduate tax program.  She as the long-standing adviser of Beta Alpha Psi, the accounting honors fraternity, assisting them in achieving and maintaining a "Superior" rating from their parent chapter for many years.

Dr. Strobel has received the Service Award from the South Carolina Association of CPAs and received the 1999 Service Award from the American Taxation Association for outstanding service to the Association and its members.  She was named Outstanding Educator in 1996 by the South Carolina Association of CPAs and received the 2002 Service Award from the Friends of the Accounting (FAD).

Recently Dr. Strobel was involved in the development of the South Carolina Tax Tool with Dr. Patrick Philipoom (Management Science).  The Tax Tool was unveiled at the State House on January 31m 2013 in a demonstration featuring its simplicity and usefulness to legislative leaders and their staff.  The tool was created to help South Carolina government, business and community leaders calculate the impact that changes in tax laws can have on the state's revenue.

Dr. Richard A. White has taught at the Darla Moore School of Business, University of South Carolina since 1985.  Dr. White served as the Chair for the School of Accounting for three years and as the academic director of the Master of Accountancy program for seven years.

Dr. White taught individual income taxation at the undergraduate level and two graduate tax classes in partnership and corporate taxation.  He is a past recipient of the South Carolina Association of CPAs Outstanding CPA in Education Award, along with an Alfred G. Smith Teaching Award and two Mortar Board Excellence in Teaching awards.

Dr. White's research has been published in a number of top ranked journals and he has served on the editorial board of Accounting Education.

The retirement of these three outstanding professors was celebrated at a luncheon at the Manor House at 316 Senate Street on April 28, 2015.

A wonderful crowd was in attendance, including faculty members Chelsea Rae Austin, Timothy Baker, Mark Cecchini, Andrew Collins, Janice Fergusson, Ling Harris, Tom Hughes, Scott Jackson, David Johnson, Jared Jones, Bob and Marlys Lipe, Mariah Lynch, Tao Ma, Drew Newman, Donna Bobek Schmitt, Natalia Scott, Bryan Stikeleather, Brad Tuttle, Scott Vandervelde and Aaron Zimbelman, along with Deans Peter Brews and Brian Klaas.  Accounting staff Taylor Self and Cynthia Parker along with PhD students Charles Boster, Laura Feustel, Ethan LaMothe, Mary Marshall, Joel Owens, and Nate Waddoups were also in attendance. 

Special guests included Birgit Doupnik, wife of Tim Doupnik and Missy and Helen White, wife and mother of Rich White, respectively.  Retired faculty Jimmy Burkett, Becky Kerr, Al Leitch, Subash Sharma (Marketing) and Terry Shimp (Marketing) were also in attendance.  We were delighted that PhD alums Rebecca Kaenzig and her son, Will Barbour, along with Linda Quick were also able to attend.

Several guests - Timothy Baker, Janice Fergusson, Tom Hughes, David Johnson, Al Leitch, Rebecca Kaenzig and Linda Quick - shared stories about their experiences with the honorees as both students and colleagues.  The School of Accounting presented the retirees with a framed print of the Horseshoe originally painted by Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Dr. Al Leitch.  All three of these honored retirees have been bestowed with the title Distinguished Professor Emeritus.

With a total of 97 years of quality teaching and research between the three, they will be duly missed by students and colleagues alike.