Skip to main content

Faculty Awards & Honors

The School of Accounting is always striving for excellence and it shows in the awards and honors bestowed upon our faculty and PhD students.  The following are some of their accomplishments over the past year.

Timothy Baker received the Beta Alpha Psi Outstanding Professor for the Fall 2014 semester and the Beta Alpha Psi Outstanding Undergraduate teaching award for the Spring 2015 semester.  The Beta Alpha Psi Outstanding Graduate Professor for the Spring 2015 semester was awarded to Scott Vandervelde.

 Timothy Baker
 Scott Vandervelde
 Tom Hughes

Tom Hughes was awarded the Michael A. Hill Outstanding Honors College Faculty award, which recognizes distinguished teaching in the Honors College.  The faculty member is selected annually by the Honors College students.  Tom received the award when he addressed the incoming 2015-2016 Honors class at their convocation in the Koger Center.

Joel Owens received the W. Pierce Liles Outstanding Doctoral Student award.

First year ACCT PhD Sarah Judge was selected as a 2015 USC Presidential Fellow.  Applicants for this award must have applied to a doctoral program and met all admission requirements, must have relevant nationally-normed standardized test scores at 80% or higher, and must possess an outstanding undergraduate or master's level record.  They are nominated by their graduate program directors once their applications are complete but prior to matriculation. 

Mary Marshall and Nate Waddoups received the 2015 Outstanding Doctoral Student Teaching award for the School of Accounting.

 Sarah Judge
 Mary Marshall
 Nate Waddoups


Impact on Management Accounting Practice Award

Scott Jackson, Tim Keune and Leigh Salzsieder were recognized with the Impact on Management Accounting Practice Award in January 2015 at the AAA Management Accounting Section Research and Case Conference in Newport Beach, CA.

Their article, "Debt, Equity, and Capital Investments," appeared in the 2013 Journal of Accounting Economics 56(2-3), pp.291-330.  The selection panel for the award stated that this article has "the potential for widespread impact on business by documenting the effects of bias in important investment decisions."  The award is co-sponsored by the American Accounting Association, the AICPA and CIMA.  Representatives of each organization make up the selection panel.

Scott Jackson is a professor in the School of Accounting and the director of the Accounting PhD program.  Tim Keune is a former assistant professor in the School of Accounting and is now with the University of Dayton.  Leigh Salzsieder graduated with his PhD in Accounting from the University of South Carolina in 2010 and now teaches at University of Missouri - Kansas City.