Skip to main content


an historical drawing of the horseshoe circa 1872

Historical Highlights

1919 School of Commerce foundedĀ 
1944 Department of Retailing created
1946 School of Commerce becomes School of Business Administration; Master of Science in Business Administration established
1953 Bureau of Business and Economic Research (now Division of Research) opened
1959 Master of Business Administration established
1960 Charles E. Daniel Center for Management Education opened
1962 Undergraduate AACSB Accreditation granted
Graduate AACSB Accreditation granted
1965 School of Business Administration becomes College of Business Administration; Ph.D. in Business Administration established; Master of Accountancy established
1967 Ph.D. in Economics established
1969 USC-Business Partnership Foundation formed
1970 MBA-ETV (now Professional MBA) launched
1973 H. William Close Building completed
1974 Master of International Business Studies established
1979 Franklin L. Roddey Small Business Development Center of South Carolina opened
1982 Riegel & Emory Human Resource Research Center opened
1983 Francis M. Hipp Building completed; Master of Personnel and Employment Relations (now Master of Human Resources) established
1986 Master of Taxation established
1990 School of Accounting created; Center for International Business Education and Research opened
1994 International Master of Business Administration established
1997 Center for Applied Real Estate Education and Research opened; The Faber Center for Entrepreneurship opened
1998 Darla Moore School of Business dedicated
2004 Executive International Master of Business Administration launched
2009 International Business and Chinese Enterprise (IBCE) track launched
2009 Master of International Business program launched