Skip to main content

Finance Faculty

Tenure-Track Faculty

Allen Berger, Ph.D.
University of California, Berkeley, 1983
Academic Research Interests: Financial Institutions, Finance, Econometrics, Industrial Organization, Microeconomics
E-mail: aberger@moore.sc.edu

Yongqiang Chu, Ph.D.

University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2008
Academic Research Interests: Asset Pricing, Real Estate Finance, Housing, Capital Structure
E-mail: yongqiang.chu@moore.sc.edu

Helen Doerpinghaus, Ph.D.
University of Pennsylvania, 1989
Academic Research Interests: Insurance, Employee Benefits, Health Care
E-mail: doerp@.sc.edu

John Hackney, Ph.D.
University of Washington, 2016
Academic Research Interests: Corporate Finance, Law and Finance, Small Business and Entrepreneurship, Bankruptcy, Banking
E-mail: john.hackney@moore.sc.edu

Mohammad Irani, Ph.D.
Stockholm University, 2016
Academic Research Interests: Corporate Finance, Mergers and Acquisitions, Empirical Asset Pricing, Event Studies, Financial Econometrics
E-mail: mohammad.irani@moore.sc.edu

Chao Jiang, Ph.D.
University of Kansas, 2016
Academic Research Interests: Empirical Asset Pricing, Insider Trading, Behavioral Finance, Empirical Corporate Finance
E-mail: chao.jiang@moore.sc.edu

Hugh Hoikwang Kim, Ph.D.
University of Pennsylvania, 2013
Academic Research Interests: Asset pricing, investor behavior, life-cycle portfolio choice, financial institutions
E-mail: hugh.kim@moore.sc.edu

Timothy W. Koch, Ph.D.
Purdue University, 1976
Academic Research Interests: Fixed Income Securities, Derivatives, Management of Financial Institutions, Security Analysis
E-mail: tkoch@moore.sc.edu

Dongmei Li, Ph.D.
University of Pennsylvania, 2007
Academic Research Interests: Investment-based Asset Pricing, Behavioral Finance, Financial Constraints, R&D, Innovation, and Real Options
E-mail: dongmei.li@moore.sc.edu

Liang Ma, Ph.D.
University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2014
Academic Research Interests: Asset Pricing, Behavioral Finance, Corporate Finance
E-mail: liang.ma@moore.sc.edu

Steven V. Mann, Ph.D.
University of Nebraska, 1987
Academic Research Interests: Fixed Income Securities, Derivatives
E-mail: svmann@moore.sc.edu

Gregory R. Niehaus, Ph.D.
Department Chair
Washington University, 1985
Academic Research Interests: Insurance Economics, Corporate Pension Plans, Corporate Finance
E-mail: gregn@moore.sc.edu

Eric A. Powers, Ph.D.
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1998
Academic Research Interests: Functioning of Diversified Firms (Internal Capital Markets, Management Turnover, and Corporate Restructuring), Fixed Income Security Valuation
E-mail: epowers@moore.sc.edu

Sergey Tsyplakov, Ph.D.
University of Texas-Austin, 2001
Academic Research Interests: Corporate Finance, Real Options, Computational Finance,
Real Estate
E-mail:  sergey@moore.sc.edu

Wenhao Yang, Ph.D.
University of Utah, 2016
Academic Research Interests: Empirical Asset Pricing, Mutual Funds, Corporate Innovation, and Experiments on Asset Pricing Theory
E-mail: wenhao.yang@moore.sc.edu

Donghang Zhang, Ph.D.
University of Florida, 2002
Academic Research Interests: Initial Public Offerings, Corporate Finance, Market Microstructure
E-mail: zhang@moore.sc.edu

Clinical Teaching Faculty

Robert Hartwig, Ph.D.
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, 1993
Academic Research Interests: Insurance Markets, Risk Management and Securitization, Technology Risks and Venture Capital in Insurance Markets
E-mail: robert.hartwig@moore.sc.edu

Ozgur Ince, Ph.D.
University of Florida, 2006
Academic Research Interests: Corporate Finance, especially the
interaction between product market and corporate finance, and Real
Estate
E-mail: ozgur.ince@moore.sc.edu

Colin Jones, Ph.D.
Pennsylvania State University, 2013
Academic Research Interests: Venture Capital, Private Equity, Mergers and Acquisitions, IPOs
E-mail: colin.jones@moore.sc.edu

Lecturers

James Austin
E-mail: jim.austin@moore.sc.edu

John DeMeo
E-mail: john.demeo@moore.sc.edu

William H. Harrison, Jr., M.B.A.
University of Pennsylvania, 1978
E-mail: Wharrison@moore.sc.edu

George Krempley
E-mail: george.krempley@moore.sc.edu

Greg Putnam, CFA, M. A.
University of South Carolina, 1996
E-mail: greg.putnam@moore.sc.edu

Visiting Assistant Professor

Igor Osobov, Ph.D.
Purdue University, 2004
Academic Research Interests: payout policy, capital structure and debt structure
E-mail: igor.osobov@moore.sc.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Ernst Csiszar, JD
University of Windsor
E-mail: erniecsiszar@moore.sc.edu

J. Robert Sheppard, Jr.
E-mail: projfin@bellsouth.net

Executive in Residence

John Bachmann

Emeritus Faculty

S. Travis Pritchett, D.B.A.
Indiana University, 1969
Academic Research Interests: Health Care, Personal Financial Planning, Insurance
E-mail: pritch@moore.sc.edu

Rodney L. Roenfeldt, D.B.A.
Indiana University, 1972
Academic Research Interests: Capital Structure Decisions, Corporate Restructuring
E-mail: roenfeldt@moore.sc.edu

Ronald C. Rogers, Ph.D.
Ohio State University, 1983
Academic Research Interests: Real Estate, Corporate Finance
E-mail: rrogers@moore.sc.edu

John E. Stinton 
Indiana University, DBA
Academic Research Interests: Life and Health Insurance, Employee Benefits
E-mail: johnstinton@cs.com

Oliver G. Wood, Jr.
University of Florida, Ph.D.