Skip to main content

Economics Faculty

Tenure Track Faculty


John T. Addison, Ph.D. 
London School of Economics, 1971
Academic Research Interests: Collective bargaining, unemployment, human capital
E-mail:  ecceaddi@moore.sc.edu

McKinley Blackburn, Ph.D. 
James A. Morris Professor of Economics
Harvard University, 1987
Academic Research Interests:  Wage structure, income inequality, economics demography
E-mail:  blackbrn@moore.sc.edu

Janice Boucher Breuer, Ph.D. 
University of North Carolina, 1987
Academic Research Interests:  International economics, econometrics, price and wage determination
E-mail:  boucher@moore.sc.edu

Jason DeBacker, Ph.D.
University of Texas at Austin, 2008
Academic Research Interests: Economics of Taxation, firm Dynamics, political Economy
E-mail: Jason.debacker@moore.sc.edu    

Stephen R. Finger, Ph.D. 
Duke University, 2008
Academic Research Interests:  Industrial organization, economics of innovation, applied microeconomics
E-mail:  stephen.finger@moore.sc.edu

Robert Gonzalez, Ph.D. 
UNC-Chapel Hill, 2016
Academic Research Interests:  Development economics, public economics
E-mail:  robert.gonzalez@moore.sc.edu

William R. Hauk, Jr., Ph.D. 
Stanford University, 2005
Academic Research Interests:  International trade, political economics, economic growth, applied econometrics
E-mail:  hauk@moore.sc.edu

Andrew Hill, Ph.D. 
University of British Columbia 
Academic Research Interests: Empirical micreconomics, economics of education, labor economics
E-mail:  andrew.hill@moore.sc.edu

Christian Jensen, Ph.D. 
Carnegie Mellon University, 2003
Academic Research Interests:  Macro and monetary economics, dynamic policy issues
E-mail:  cjensen@moore.sc.edu

Daniel Jones, Ph.D. 
University of Pittsburgh, 2013
Academic Research Interests:  Public Economics, labor economics, experimental economics
E-mail:  daniel.jones@moore.sc.edu

Alexander Matros, Ph.D.
Stockholm School of Economics, 2001
Academic Research Interests:  Evolutionary, experimental, game theory, contests, and industrial organization.
E-Mail:  alexander.matros@moore.sc.edu

John McDermott, Ph.D. 
Department Chair                                                                                                                                                                           Brown University, 1979
Academic Research Interests:  Growth theory, developmental economics and international economics
E-mail:  dynamo@moore.sc.edu

Melayne Morgan McInnes, Ph.D. 
Yale University, 1998
Academic Research Interests:  Economics of health care industry, medical malpractice, economic burden of smoking and obesity, experimental economics, and economics of insurance
E-mail:  mcinnes@moore.sc.edu

Chun-Hui Miao, Ph.D.
Princeton University, 2006
Academic Research Interests:  Industrial organization, microeconomic theory, law and economics
E-mail:  miao@moore.sc.edu

Tamara Sheldon, Ph.D.

University of California, San Diego, 2015

Academic Research Interests: Energy Economics, Environmental Economics, Transportation Economics, Applied Econometrics

E-mail: tamara.shedon@moore.sc.edu

Orgül Demet Öztürk, Ph.D.
University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2006
Academic Research Interests:  Labor economics, public economics, applied microeconomics
E-mail:  odozturk@moore.sc.edu

Doug Woodward, Ph.D. 
Director of Division of Research
University of Texas-Austin, 1986
Academic Research Interests:  Regional economics, international economics
E-mail:  woodward@moore.sc.edu

Lindsey Woodworth, Ph.D. 
University of Florida, 2014
Academic Research Interests:  Health economics, public economics, applied microeconomics 
E-mail:  Lindsey.woodworth@moore.sc.edu

Yi (Crystal) Zhan, Ph.D.

University of California, San Diego, 2013
Academic Research Interests:  Labor economics, public economics,  applied econometrics
E-mail:  crystal.zhan@moore.sc.edu


Research Associate Professor Faculty

Joseph C. Von Nessen, Ph.D.
University of South Carolina, 2009
Academic Research Interests:  Regional economic modeling, economic forecasting, economic impact studies, survey research
Email:  joey.vonnessen@moore.sc.edu 


Clinical Track Faculty


John Gordanier, Ph.D. 
University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2006
Academic Research Interests:  Labor economics, microeconomic theory, applied microeconomics
E-mail:  jgordanier@moore.sc.edu
 
Chandini Sankaran, Ph.D. 
Kansas State University, 2005
Academic Research Interests:  International Economic Development, Sustainable Economic Development, Environmental Economics, Energy Economics, Income Inequality, Economics of Education and The Economics of Family Decision Making
E-mail:  chandini.sankaran@moore.sc.edu


Lecturer

Stephen P. Slice, MBA
University of South Carolina, 1990
M.S., Applied and Agricultural Economics, Clemson University, 1986
Email:  Stephen.slice@moore.sc.edu

 


 

Adjunct Faculty

Elizabeth Breitbach, Ph.D.
Academic Research Interests:  Economic education and public finance
E-mail:  elizabeth.breitbach@moore.sc.edu

Joseph B. Dance Jr., MBA
University of South Carolina, 1992
B.S., U.S. Military Academy, West Point, NY, 1974
E-mail:  dancejoe@mailbox.sc.edu

Pattama Shimpalee, Ph.D.
University of south Carolina, 2004
M.S., Economics (Honors), National Institute of Development Administration, Thailand, 1995
E-mail:  plimpawa@gmail.com


Emeritus Faculty

Robert J. Carlsson, Ph.D.
Rutgers University, 1964
Academic Research Interests:  Applied microeconomics
E-mail:  carlsson@moore.sc.edu

Henry W. Chappell, Ph.D. 
Yale University, 1979
Academic Research Interests:  Public choice, voting behavior, macroeconomics policy

Elchanan Cohn, Ph.D.
Iowa State University, 1968
Academic Research Interests:  Human capital, education, public finance
E-mail:  feu00004@moore.sc.edu

B. F. Kiker, Ph.D.
Tulane University, 1965
Academic Research Interests:  Human capital, economic theory
E-mail:  kikerbf@moore.sc.edu

W. Pierce Liles, Ph.D.
University of South Carolina, 1972
E-mail:  lilesp@moore.sc.edu

Randolph C. Martin, Ph.D. 
Washington University, 1971
Academic Research Interests:  Regional and urban economics, economic modeling

William Phillips, Ph.D.
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1980
Academic Research Interests:  Economic history, international trade
E-mail:  wmphllps@moore.sc.edu

Ronald P. Wilder, Ph.D.
Vanderbilt University, 1969
Academic Research Interests:  Health economics, forensic economics, regulation and deregulation
E-mail:  wilder@moore.sc.edu