Skip to main content

Accounting Faculty

Tenure Track Faculty

Chelsea Rae Austin, Ph.D.
University of Iowa, 2014
Academic Research Interests:  Taxation, determinants and consequences of tax avoidance decisions, and financial reporting tax benefits from stock options
E-mail:  chelsearae.austin@moore.sc.edu

Mark Cecchini, Ph.D.
Department Chair
University of Florida, 2005
Academic Research Interests:  Accounting information systems; financial events prediction; machine learning, theory and application; and automatic text analysis.
E-mail:  cecchini@moore.sc.edu

Andrew Collins, Ph.D.
University of Oklahoma, 2014
Academic Research Interests:
E-mail:  Andrew.collins@moore.sc.edu

Ling Harris, Ph.D.
University of Illionois - Urbana-Champaign
Academic Research Interests:  Financial reporting; judgment and Decision Making of Investors and Managers
Email:  ling.harris@moore.sc.edu

Scott B. Jackson, Ph.D.
University of Nebraska, 1997
Academic Research Interests:  Earnings management, accounting choices, compensation, and taxation
Email:  scott.jackson@moore.sc.edu

Marlys Gascho Lipe, Ph.D.
University of Chicago, 1985
Academic Research Interests: Experimental research in Financial and Managerial Accounting, Judgment and Decision Making of Investors and Managers
E-Mail:  marlys.lipe@moore.sc.edu

Tao Ma, Ph.D.
Washington University, 2011
Academic Research Interests: Financial and international accounting, specifically issues related to accounting conservatism and the role of accounting information in solving information asymmetry.
E-mail:  tao.ma@moore.sc.edu

Andrew Newman, Ph.D.
Georgia State University, 2009
Academic Research Interests:  Management accounting, incentives, information systems, internal controls
E-mail:  Andrew.newman@moore.sc.edu

Donna Bobek Schmitt, Ph.D.
University of Florida, 1997
Academic Research Interests:  Taxation, tax policy, Judgment and Decision Making of Taxpayers and Tax Professionals, Ethical Decision Making
E-mail:  donna.schmitt@moore.sc.edu

Bryan Stikeleather, Ph.D
University of Pittsburgh, 2013
Academic Research Interests:  Managerial accounting, behavioral & experimental economics, human judgment & decision-making, social norms, whistle-blowing, ethics
E-mail:  bryan.stikeleather@moore.sc.edu

Scott D. Vandervelde, Ph.D.
Academic Coordinator, Master of Accountancy
University of Iowa, 2002
Academic Research Interests:  Experimental auditing, judgment and decision-making
E-mail:  vandervelde@moore.sc.edu

Aaron Zimbelman, Ph.D.
University of Illinois at Urbana, Champaign, 2014
Academic Research Interests:  Financial statement fraud, auditing, judgment and decision making, and experimental economics.
E-Mail:  aaron.zimbelman@moore.sc.edu

Clinical Faculty

Bob Lipe, Ph.D.
University of Chicago, 1985
Academic Research Interests: Financial accounting and reporting with emphasis on policy and standard setting.
E-mail:  Robert.lipe@moore.sc.edu

Teaching Lecturers

Timothy Baker
M.B.A., University of South Carolina, 2000
Areas of Specialization: Accounting information systems, auditing, and enterprise risk management
E-mail: timothy.baker@moore.sc.edu

Janice Fergusson
MACC, University of South Carolina, 2001
Areas of Specialization:  Managerial accounting, accounting information systems, and governmental/non-profit accounting
E-mail:  fergusson@moore.sc.edu

Thomas M. Hughes, J.D.
University of South Carolina, 1979
Areas of Specialization:  Business law and contracts
E-mail:  thughes@moore.sc.edu

J. David Johnson, IV, Esq.
University of South Carolina, 1999
Areas of Specialization:  Business law, Taxation, Business valuation, ERISA
E-mail:  david.johnson@moore.sc.edu

Jared Jones
Program Coordinator, Master of Accountancy
MACC, University of South Carolina, 2013
Areas of Specialization:
E-mail:  jared.jones@moore.sc.edu

Natalia Scott
M.S., University of South Carolina, 2005
Areas of Specialization: Financial accounting and financial statement analysis
E-mail:  natalia.scott@moore.sc.edu

Warren S. "Stan" Smith
Master of Professional Accountancy, Georgia State University, 1979
Areas of Specialization:  Managerial accounting, financial compliance, and individual taxation
E-mail:  warren.smith@moore.sc.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Garnett F. Beazley, Ph.D.
University of Pittsburgh, 1963

Timothy S. Doupnik, Ph.D.
University of Illinois, 1983
E-mail: doupnik@moore.sc.edu

James B. Edwards, Ph.D.
University of Georgia, 1971
E-mail:  edwardsj@moore.sc.edu

Adrian M. Harrell, Ph.D.
University of Texas, 1975

John S. Herin, M.S.
University of South Carolina

Robert (Al) Leitch, Ph.D.
University of Tennessee, 1973
E-mail:  leitch@moore.sc.edu

Gary A. Luoma, Ph.D.
Washington University, 1966
E-mail:  garylu@moore.sc.edu

Howard P. Sanders, Ph.D.
University of Florida

Earl A. Spiller, Ph.D.
University of Michigan

Caroline D. Strobel, Ph.D.
University of Georgia, 1978
E-mail: strobel@moore.sc.edu

Brad Tuttle
Arizona State University, 1991
E-mail: tuttle@moore.sc.edu

Richard A. White, Ph.D.
Arizona State University, 1981
E-mail: whiter@moore.sc.edu